23 May 2013

Two HBS Professors Win Wyss Award for Excellence in Mentoring Doctoral Students

Kathleen McGinn and Anita Tucker Honored

BOSTON—Two Harvard Business School (HBS) faculty members, Professor Kathleen McGinn and Associate Professor Anita Tucker, recently received the sixth annual Wyss Award for Excellence in Mentoring for their work with students in the Doctoral Programs.

(LtoR): Kathleen McGinn, Anita Tucker

Nominees were chosen by current doctoral students from the array of faculty with whom they had worked. The list of nominees was then reviewed by a student selection committee comprising doctoral students from a number of fields, including accounting, business economics, marketing, management, organizational behavior, and technology and operations management.

“Kathleen is everything I could ask for in an advisor,” said one student about working with McGinn. “She always puts my best interests first. If I have an idea, she will brainstorm with me, dig deep into study design, and provide me with the positive encouragement that I need. She does this whether the project is with her or another advisor, treating each of my studies as if it were her own. She gets excited about the ideas and research and helps me stay passionate about my work."

“I couldn’t imagine going through this process without Anita,” observed another student. “She has been a great mentor by continuously giving me helpful feedback and allowing me to explore different options. She has always been available when needed, perfectly balancing toughness with support. It is clear she wants all of us to succeed and be the best scholars that we can be, and she will do anything to help.”

“The enthusiasm our faculty members have when mentoring our students creates an incredible learning environment for them,” said Dr. John Korn, Director of Doctoral Programs. “Anita and Kathleen exemplify the highest-quality of coaching available to all our students.”

McGinn, who won the senior faculty Wyss Award, is the Cahners-Rabb Professor of Business Administration and chair of the Doctoral Programs. A member of the Negotiation, Organizations and Markets Unit, she studies the role of interpersonal relationships and gender at work and in negotiations, using both laboratory and field methodologies.

Tucker, who won the junior faculty Wyss Award, teaches in the Technology and Operations Management Unit and is a Marvin Bower Fellow. Her research focuses on healthcare organizations and issues related to patient safety, efficiency, patient experience, and implementing best practices. She is currently working with healthcare organizations to study the impact of hospitals' internal supply chains on patient outcomes and staff efficiency.

The Wyss Awards are named in honor of Hansjoerg Wyss (MBA 1965) who, in 2004, established the Hansjoerg Wyss Endowment for Doctoral Education. The Wyss Endowment supports a broad range of efforts to strengthen the HBS Doctoral Programs, including fellowships and stipends for doctoral students, increased support for field research, new doctoral course development, teaching skills training, and the renovation of doctoral facilities on campus.


Cullen Schmitt

About Harvard Business School

Founded in 1908 as part of Harvard University, Harvard Business School is located on a 40-acre campus in Boston. Its faculty of more than 250 offers full-time programs leading to the MBA and PhD degrees, as well as more than 175 Executive Education programs, and Harvard Business School Online, the School’s digital learning platform. For more than a century, faculty have drawn on their research, their experience in working with organizations worldwide, and their passion for teaching, to educate leaders who make a difference in the world. The School and its curriculum attract the boldest thinkers and the most collaborative learners who will go on to shape the practice of business and entrepreneurship around the globe.