10 Mar 2014

Two HBS Faculty Members Win Global Case Writing Competition


BOSTON—Two members of the Harvard Business School (HBS) faculty have won awards in the 2014 Case Centre’s competition. First presented in 1991, these annual awards aim to recognize worldwide excellence in case writing and raise the profile of the case method of learning.

(LtoR): Jill Avery, V. Kasturi Rangan

This year's HBS winners are Prof. V. Kasturi Rangan for "Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania" (coauthored with Sunru Yong), which won in the Economics, Politics and Business Environment category; and Senior Lecturer Jill Avery (coauthored with Thomas Steenburgh and Naseem Dahod) for "HubSpot: Inbound Marketing and Web 2.0," which was recognized in the Marketing category.

Rangan’s case discusses whether Gregory Carle, the country manager for Alpen Bank in Romania, should launch a credit card business. Carle, facing continued skepticism from the company, must consider the economic conditions in Romania, how to position the credit card, and how to acquire new customers effectively.

Avery examines the rapid growth of HubSpot, an entrepreneurial venture specializing in so-called “inbound” (or content-focused) marketing. The company is facing significant challenges, including developing market segmentation, targeting, and pricing strategies, while discussing whether traditional “outbound” marketing methods through the purchase of ads and mailing lists need to be employed to accelerate growth.

The winning case in each category is the one that has achieved the highest growth in popularity worldwide based on sales to individual organizations during the last calendar year. Cases for each category are judged anonymously by expert panels to ensure impartiality.

The Case Centre (formerly known as the European Case Clearing House) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting the case method in business education and sharing world-leading knowledge and expertise in case teaching, writing, and learning, a pedagogy first applied to management education more than 90 years ago at Harvard Business School.

Last year's HBS winners were Professor Emeritus Christopher Bartlett for "Levendary Café: The China Challenge" (coauthored with Arar Han), which won for the Economics, Politics and Business Environment category; Professor Stefan Thomke for "Design Thinking and Innovation at Apple" (coauthored with Barbara Feinberg), which won in the Entrepreneurship category; and former Adjunct Professor Timothy Luehrman for "New Heritage Doll Company: Capital Budgeting" (coauthored with Heide Abelli), which won for the Finance, Accounting and Control category.


Cullen Schmitt

About Harvard Business School

Founded in 1908 as part of Harvard University, Harvard Business School is located on a 40-acre campus in Boston. Its faculty of more than 250 offers full-time programs leading to the MBA and PhD degrees, as well as more than 175 Executive Education programs, and Harvard Business School Online, the School’s digital learning platform. For more than a century, faculty have drawn on their research, their experience in working with organizations worldwide, and their passion for teaching, to educate leaders who make a difference in the world. The School and its curriculum attract the boldest thinkers and the most collaborative learners who will go on to shape the practice of business and entrepreneurship around the globe.