May 2018

  • 31 May 2018

    Harvard Business School Names 2018-2019 Blavatnik Fellows in Life Science Entrepreneurship

    BOSTON—Harvard Business School has named its 2018-2019 Blavatnik Fellows in Life Science Entrepreneurship. Launched in 2013, the Blavatnik Fellowship is a part of a $50 million gift to Harvard University from the Blavatnik Family Foundation, headed by Len Blavatnik (MBA 1989). The Fellowship was established to support innovative and talented entrepreneurs working closely with scientists to tackle transformative areas of life science. To date, Fellows have created 17 companies in categories including therapeutics, information technology, diagnostics, consumer, and devices, and have collectively raised more than $150M in funding. Read more.

    • 30 May 2018

      Harvard Business School Holds First “HBS Hacks” Event in San Francisco

      BOSTON—Four Harvard Business School (HBS) organizations, including the Social Enterprise Initiative, the HBS Association of Northern California’s (HBSANC) Community Partners (alumni who apply their business and management skills as pro bono consultants working on strategic projects in the nonprofit sector), the California Research Center, and the Managing the Future of Work research project, teamed up recently in San Francisco to present the first “HBS Hacks” event, an innovative, hands-on, interactive occasion that brought together HBS alumni from diverse backgrounds to tackle social challenges using elements of a tech hackathon and principles of design thinking. Read more.

    • 24 May 2018

      Harvard Business School’s MBA Class of 2018 Celebrates Class Day

      BOSTON—At their Class Day ceremony yesterday afternoon, on the day before Commencement on the sun-drenched lawn in front of Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, the 915 members of the Harvard Business School MBA Class of 2018, along with their families, friends, and guests, greeted five Alumni Achievement Award recipients, honored four faculty members who had had an extraordinary impact on their lives both inside and outside the classroom, and listened to the wisdom and wit of several speakers. Read more.

    • 24 May 2018

      Meet the 2018-2019 Leadership Fellows

      The Leadership Fellows Program at Harvard Business School is based on University Professor Michael Porter’s vision of developing a network of HBS graduates with cross-sector experience who are committed to addressing societal issues throughout their careers. The Fellowship is a two-way commitment in which graduating students are offered once-in-a-lifetime opportunities to experience high-impact management positions in nonprofit and public sector organizations for one year at a competitive salary. At the same time, the hiring organizations leverage the experience, energy, and strategic and analytical skills of MBAs in roles that produce immediate results and build long-term capacity. Read more.

    • 11 May 2018

      Two HBS Faculty Honored by Aspen Institute Business & Society Program

      BOSTON—Two Harvard Business School (HBS) faculty members, Rebecca Henderson, Harvard’s John and Natty McArthur University Professor, and Jakurski Family Associate Professor George Serafeim have received a 2017 Ideas Worth Teaching Award from the Aspen Institute Business & Society Program. The Program works with business executives and scholars to align business decisions and investment with the long-term health of society. Read more.

    • 10 May 2018

      Founders of African American Student Union (AASU) at Harvard Business School Awarded W.E.B. Du Bois Medals

      BOSTON—Four founding members of the African American Student Union (AASU) at Harvard Business School (HBS)--Clifford Darden (MBA 1969, DBA 1982), Lillian Lincoln Lambert (MBA 1969), Theodore Lewis (MBA 1969), and Leroy Willis (MBA 1969)--were recently awarded the W.E.B. Du Bois Medal, Harvard University’s highest honor in the field of African and African American studies, during a special conference at the School, AASU50. Attendees included several hundred Harvard Business School alumni, faculty, staff, and current students. Read more.