September 2018

  • 24 Sep 2018

    Harvard Business School to Expand Case Studies Related to Artificial Intelligence

    BOSTON—Harvard Business School (HBS) announced today a $5 million gift from alumnus Stephen A. Schwarzman (MBA 1972), chairman, CEO, and co-founder of Blackstone, a multinational private equity alternative asset management and financial services firm, to support the development of case studies and other programming that explore the implications of artificial intelligence (AI) on industries, business, and markets. The Schwarzman Research Fund will spur and extend the efforts of HBS faculty members across a range of disciplines who are researching and writing case studies on the use of AI. Read more.

    • 04 Sep 2018

      Harvard Business School Announces 2018 Goldsmith Fellows

      BOSTON—Harvard Business School (HBS) has announced the 2018 recipients of its Horace W. Goldsmith Fellowships. Established in 1998 by the Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation and Richard L. Menschel (MBA 1959), a former director of the Foundation and a limited partner at Goldman Sachs, to encourage students from the nonprofit sector to attend HBS, these fellowships enable the School to award approximately $10,000 each to seven to ten incoming MBA students. Read more.

    August 2018

    • 10 Aug 2018

      HBX Launches Strategy Execution Program for Senior Executives via HBX Live Classroom

      BOSTON—Harvard Business School’s online initiative, HBX has launched a new program delivered through its HBX Live Classroom to help senior executives shape the future of their companies. The course, Strategy Execution, will be led by renowned Harvard Business School strategy professor Bharat Anand and former Danaher CEO and General Electric Director Larry Culp, who is now a senior lecturer at Harvard Business School. Read more.

    July 2018

    • 30 Jul 2018

      Harvard Business School Alumnus and Great Benefactor C. D. Spangler, Jr., Dies at 86

      BOSTON—C. D. (“Dick”) Spangler, Jr., a Harvard Business School alumnus (MBA 1956) well known and admired for his many notable achievements in both the public and private sectors, his visionary leadership and generous philanthropy, and his constant kindness and concern for the welfare and betterment of others, died on Sunday, July 22, in Charlotte, North Carolina. He was 86 years old. . Read more.

    June 2018

    • 22 Jun 2018

      Harvard Business School Welcomes Dwyane Wade As Executive Fellow

      BOSTON—Dwyane Wade, a professional basketball player for the Miami HEAT of the National Basketball Association (NBA), was invited to speak to students participating in the Harvard Business School Summer Venture in Management Program (SVMP), a one-week residential educational program for rising college seniors designed to increase diversity and opportunity in business education. Since joining the NBA in 2003, Wade established himself as a dominant player on the court and capitalized on his personal brand to form partnerships with some of the most powerful companies in the world. Read more.

    • 18 Jun 2018

      Two Harvard Business School Faculty Awarded Prize for Course on Sustainability

      BOSTON—Harvard Business School faculty members Rebecca Henderson and George Serafeim have been named grand prize winners of the Dr. Alfred N. and Lynn Manos Page Prize for Sustainability Issues in Business by the Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina for their popular second-year MBA elective course Reimagining Capitalism. Read more.