Glass Hall

Glass Hall is one of seven buildings named for notable secretaries of the United States Treasury at the suggestion of George F. Baker. Glass Hall is named for Carter Glass.

One of 12 original buildings on the HBS campus, Glass Hall was created as a faculty residence by architects McKim, Mead & White and completed in 1926. Over the years, the three-story 7,563-square-foot stucco and brick, Georgian Revival-style building has been repurposed several times, most recently in 1984 as updated administrative space for the School’s Executive Education programs. As reconfigured by the architectural firm Crissman & Solomon, Glass Hall’s capacity was doubled to 25, and the office spaces and areas for reception, support staff, and conferences were redesigned to better accommodate work flow. When it was completed, the facility represented an experimental prototype for future offices at HBS.

About the Name

Glass Hall is one of seven buildings named for secretaries of the US Treasury at the suggestion of George F. Baker, the prominent banker who funded the construction of Harvard Business School's original campus. The building was named for Carter Glass (1858-1946), a Democratic congressman from Virginia who cosponsored the 1913 Glass-Owen Act, which led to the creation of the Federal Reserve System. As secretary of the treasury under President Woodrow Wilson from 1918 to 1920, Glass helped consolidate the government’s World War I debt by successfully marketing $5 billion worth of Victory Liberty Loan bonds.

From 1920 to 1946, Glass served in the Senate, where he played a pivotal role in New Deal banking reform legislation, including the Banking Act of 1933, which established the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. A portion of that landmark legislation, the Glass-Steagall Act, separated investment banking from commercial banking until its repeal in 1999.